Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • What does EWEC do?

    EWEC drives the planning and forecasting, purchase and supply of water and electricity in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and beyond. EWEC is the sole procurer of water and power within the Emirate of Abu Dhabi and beyond, as well as the primary provider of water and electricity. EWEC is part of ADQ, one of the region’s largest holding companies with a diverse portfolio of major enterprises spanning key sectors of Abu Dhabi’s non-oil economy.

    Charged with leading the change in the energy sector, EWEC is responsible for securing appropriate generating capacity and ensuring economic value reaches all stakeholders. The company achieves this through careful forecasting and planning that informs the short and long-term balancing of supply and demand. EWEC develops long-term water and electricity purchase agreements with water and electricity production companies and establishes bulk supply tariff sales agreements with distribution companies.

  • How does EWEC impact my day to day life?

    EWEC purchases water and power from production plants and desalination plants, and shares that water and power on with distribution companies, such as the Abu Dhabi Distribution Company (ADDC) and Al Ain Distribution Company (AADC), who sell that water and power to the end user.

    We ensure sufficient production capacity is available to provide a reliable supply of water and power to consumers in Abu Dhabi and beyond at the most efficient and economic rate possible whilst ensuring the security of water and power supply.

  • How can my company take part in an EWEC bid?

    To become a supplier, contractor or consultant for our projects or activities, your company should register through eRegistration and follow the steps there.The department of the registration process is under ADDC and is dedicated for the whole sector (Abu Dhabi Power Corporation and its subsidiaries).

    For IWP/IPP/IWPP projects, an Expression of Interest (EOI) will be publicised and your company can follow the instructions stated in the EOI.

  • What steps are your company taking to reduce carbon emissions?

    EWEC’s commitment to reducing carbon emissions falls in line with the UAE Energy Strategy 2050, which has set a number of objectives. These strategic goals include deriving 50% of the country’s total energy mix from clean and renewable sources. Overall, the carbon footprint of power generation will be cut by 70% by 2050 as part of the strategy, while consumption efficiency is set to increase by 40% among individuals and companies.

    Sustainability flows throughout EWEC’s mission. It animates strategic priorities, including securing the economic supply of water and electricity, championing change in the energy sector and enabling the sustainability priorities in UAE Vision 2021, UAE Water Security Strategy 2036 and UAE Energy Strategy 2050.

    Falling CO2 Intensity: In just the three years between 2015 and 2018, the average CO2 intensity from EWEC’s electricity generation system fell by 15%. Commissioning new and more efficient plants fuelled this improvement. The rate achieved is already 30% lower than that of the OECD country average.

    World’s Largest PV Project: Setting the pace for renewables, EWEC commissioned the 1,180-megawatt Noor Abu Dhabi project in April 2019, the largest operational single-site solar project in the world. It is reducing Abu Dhabi’s CO2 emissions by 1 million metric tons/year.

    EWEC is also leading the development of the world's largest reverse osmosis (RO) desalination project at the Taweelah plant. The plant will redefine efficiency benchmarks with record low energy consumption of less than 3kWh per cubic meter. The contribution from around 50 MW of onsite solar generation will further boost the plants green credentials.

  • How can I apply for a job at EWEC?

    To enquire about vacancies at EWEC please email your CV to hr@ewec.ae

الأسئلة الشائعة

  • ما هي وظيفة شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات؟

    تقود شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات عمليات التخطيط والإنتاج وشراء الماء والكهرباء لتلبية احتياجات إمارة أبوظبي وبعض الإمارات الأخرى، وهي المؤمن الوحيد لأي طاقة إنتاجية للماء والكهرباء في إمارة أبوظبي وخارجها والمزود الرئيسي لهما. وتتبع لشركة أبوظبي التنموية القابضة (ADQ)، واحدة من أكبر الشركات القابضة في المنطقة والتي تمتلك محفظة متنوعة من كبرى المشاريع تمتد عبر عدد من القطاعات الرئيسية ضمن الاقتصاد غير النفطي في إمارة أبوظبي.

    وتتولى الشركة قيادة التغيير في القطاع ومسؤولية توفير القدرة الإنتاجية المطلوبة وتأمين العائدات الاقتصادية لجميع الشركاء، وذلك من خلال اتباع منهجية عمل تعتمد الدقة في التخطيط والتنبؤ لموازنة الطلب والمخزون على المدى القريب والبعيد. كما تعمل شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات على تطوير اتفاقيات طويلة الأمد لشراء الماء والكهرباء بالتعاون مع شركات الإنتاج المستقل، وإبرام اتفاقيات البيع والتوريد بالجملة ضمن أسعار التعرفة مع شركات التوزيع.

  • كيف تؤثر شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات على حياتي اليومية؟

    تقوم الشركة بشراء المياه والكهرباء من محطات الإنتاج والتحلية لتشاركها مع شركات التوزيع مثل شركة أبوظبي للتوزيع وشركة العين للتوزيع التي تبيع هذه الخدمات للمستهلك النهائي.

    كما تحرص على توفر السعة الإنتاجية الكافية لتأمين إمدادات موثوقة من المياه والكهرباء للمستهلكين في أبوظبي وخارجها بتكلفة اقتصادية وفعالة.

  • كيف بالإمكان المشاركة في مناقصات شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات

    يجب على الشركات الراغبة بالمشاركة كمزود أو مقاول أو استشاري في مشاريع أو نشاطات الشركة التسجيل عبر الموقع الإلكتروني والتنسيق مع شعبة تسجيل الشركات لاستكمال خطوات التسجيل والتأهيل، حيث تتولى شركة أبوظبي للتوزيع إدارة عمليات تسجيل وتأهيل الشركات لكامل القطاع. للتسجيل، اضغط هنا

    تنشر شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات إعلان (طلب إبداء الاهتمام) لتنفيذ مشاريع إنتاج الماء والكهرباء وفقا لنموذج المنتج المستقل، ويمكن للشركات الراغبة في المشاركة في تنفيذ هذه المشاريع اتباع التعليمات والشروط المذكورة في الإعلان وقتها.

  • ما هي الخطوات التي تتخذها شركتك لتقليل انبعاثات الكربون؟

    يتماشى التزام شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات في تخفيض انبعاثاتها الكربونية مع استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050 والتي حددت عدداً من الأهداف التي تضمنت استقطاب 50% من إجمالي حاجات الدولة من الكهرباء من مصادر نظيفة ومتجددة. وبشكل عام وكجزء من الاستراتيجية ستنخفض البصمة الكربونية الناتجة عن إنتاج الكهرباء بنسبة 70% مع حلول 2050، مع زيادة فعالية الاستهلاك بين الشركات والأفراد بنسبة 40%.

    كما تتمحور أهداف شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات حول تحقيق مبدأ الاستدامة، حيث تضع الشركة الأولويات الاستراتيجية موضع العمل متضمنةً تأمين المخزون الاقتصادي من المياه والكهرباء وريادة التغيير في قطاع الطاقة وتمكين أولويات الاستدامة التي تمليها رؤية الإمارات 2021 واستراتيجية الأمن المائي لدولة الإمارات 2036 واستراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050.

    لقد انخفضت كثافة الانبعاثات الكربونية التي تنتجها منظومة توليد الكهرباء في الشركة بنسبة 15% لتبلغ 350 جرام لكل كيلو واط ساعة وذلك خلال 3 أعوام من 2015 إلى 2018، وساهم تفويض محطات إنتاج جديدة أكثر فعالية في تحقيق هذا الإنجاز. ويسجل الرقم المحقق انخفاضاً بنسبة 30% عن الرقم الذي حددته منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية لمتوسط إنتاج الدول بـ 500 جرام لكل كيلو واط في الساعة.

    أكبر مشروع ألواح شمسية في العالم: أطلقت شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات محطة نور أبوظبي للطاقة الشمسية، أكبر محطة مستقلة للطاقة الشمسية في العالم، في أبريل 2019 وبطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 1180 ميجاواط لتمهد الطريق أمام مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. وتسهم المحطة بتقليص انبعاثات أبوظبي الكربونية بمقدار مليون طن مكعب سنوياً.

    وتقود الشركة تطوير أكبر مشروع لتحلية المياه بتقنية التناضح العكسي في العالم في محطة الطويلة، التي تعيد تحديد معايير الفعالية بمعدل استهلاك طاقة قياسي يبلغ 3 كيلو واط في الساعة للمتر المكعب. وعلاوةً على ذلك يسهم إنتاج 50 ميجاواط من الطاقة الشمسية داخل المنشأة برفع مستوى الأثر الإيجابي للمحطة على البيئة.

     

  • كيف يمكنني التقدم لوظيفة لدى شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات؟

    للاستفسار حول الشواغر الوظيفية في الشركة، يرجى إرسال السيرة الذاتية إلى البريد الإلكتروني: hr@ewec.ae