Barakah Nuclear Energy Plant

The Barakah Nuclear Energy Plant is located in the Al Dhafra region of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, approximately 53 kilometers West-Southwest of the city of Ruwais. The Barakah Plant is the first nuclear energy plant in the Arab World, leading the biggest decarbonisation efforts in the region.

The plant consists of four APR1400 nuclear reactors, which once fully operational will prevent the release of up to 21 million tonnes of carbon emissions every year.

Unit 1 of the Barakah Plant started commercial operations in April 2021, with Unit 2 successfully connected to the national electricity grid in September 2021. Units 3 and 4 are set to become operational over the coming years.

In 2016, EWEC signed a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) with Barakah One Company, ENEC’s subsidiary in charge of the financial and commercial activities of the Barakah project, to purchase all electricity generated at the plant for the next 60 years. Electricity produced at the Barakah Plant feeds into the national grid in the same manner as other energy plants, providing clean electricity across the country.

4

Nuclear Reactors at Barakah plant

2021

Start of Unit 1 commercial operations

21 Million

Tonnes of carbon footprint reduction per year when all Units come online

Disble Drag
Enable Drag

محطات براكة للطاقة النووية

تقع محطات براكة للطاقة النووية في منطقة الظفرة بإمارة أبوظبي، على بعد 53 كيلومتراً إلى الجنوب الغربي من مدينة الرويس، والتي تعتبر أولى محطات الطاقة النووية في العالم العربي، وأكبر مساهم للحد من الانبعاثات الكربونية في المنطقة.

تضم المحطات أربعة مفاعلات نووية من مفاعلات الطاقة المتقدمة من طراز APR1400، والتي من المتوقع أن تُسهم في الحد من الانبعاثات الكربونية بالدولة بواقع 21 مليون طن سنوياً.

في شهر أبريل 2021، تم الإعلان عن بدء التشغيل التجاري للمحطة الأولى من محطات براكة للطاقة النووية.وفي شهر سبتمبر، تم الإعلان عن ربط الوحدة الثانية في شبكة الكهرباء الرئيسية في الدولة بنجاح. ومن المتوقع أن يبدأ التشغيل التجاري للمحطات 3 و4 خلال السنوات القليلة القادمة.

في العام 2016، وقعت شركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات اتفاقية شراء الطاقة مع شركة براكة الأولى، التابعة لمؤسسة الإمارات للطاقة النووية والمسؤولة عن الشؤون المالية والتجارية لمشروع براكة، لشراء الكهرباء المُنتجة من المحطات لمدة 60 عاماً. وكغيرها من محطات إنتاج الكهرباء، ستعمل محطات براكة على توفير متطلبات الطاقة النظيفة للمنازل وقطاعات الأعمال في مختلف أرجاء الدولة.

 

 

4

مفاعلات نووية في محطة براكة

2021

بدء التشغيل التجاري للمحطة الأولى

21 مليون طن

إجمالي الانبعاثات الكربونية التي سيتم الحد منها سنوياً بعد التشغيل التام للمحطات

Disble Drag
Enable Drag