Shams 1 (CSP)

Located in Western Abu Dhabi, Shams 1 Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) was the largest renewable energy project in operation in the Middle East when launched in 2013. It occupies an area of 2.5 square kilometres and has a production capacity of 100 megawatts. The solar field has 768 parabolic trough collectors to generate clean, renewable electricity.

Shams 1 directly contributed toward Abu Dhabi’s target of 7 percent power-generation capacity from renewable energy by the year 2020. The plant is also helping the UAE diversify its energy mix and reduce the country’s carbon footprint. The plant displaces about 175,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide per year, which is equivalent to planting 1.5 million trees or removing 15,000 cars from Abu Dhabi’s roads.

Concentrated solar power generates electricity from the heat of the sun rather than sunlight, as is the case with solar photovoltaic technology. Parabolic trough systems use solar thermal collectors in the form of parabolic mirrors, with a central tube to concentrate the heat from direct solar irradiation. The heat in turn produces steam to drive a conventional turbine, ultimately generating electricity.

Shams 1 has won four awards:

  • MENASOL Awards 2016
  • Emirates Energy Award 2013 - Large Energy Project Award - Dubai Supreme Council of Energy 
  • Project of the Year Award 2013 Emirates Solar Industry Association
  • Middle East Renewable Energy Deal of the year 2010 - Project Finance Magazine
     

175,000

Tonnes of carbon footprint reduction per year

100 MW

Installed capacity

20,000

Households powered

Disble Drag
Enable Drag

محطة شمس1 للطاقة الشمسية المُركَّزة

تقع محطة شمس1 للطاقة الشمسية إلى الغرب من أبوظبي، وكانت تمثل أكبر مشروع قيد التشغيل للطاقة المتجددة في الشرق الأوسط عند إطلاقها في عام 2013. وتقع على مساحة 2.5 كيلومتر مربع وتبلغ طاقتها الإنتاجية 100 ميغاوات. وتضم 768 حوضا حراريا لتوليد كهرباء نظيفة ومتجددة.

ساهمت محطة شمس1 بشكل مباشر في تحقيق هدف أبوظبي المتمثل في توفير 7٪ من قدرة توليد الطاقة من الطاقة المتجددة بحلول عام 2020. كما تدعم المحطة جهود الدولة بشأن تنويع مزيج الطاقة وتقليل البصمة الكربونية، حيث تسهم المحطة في خفض حوالي 175000 طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنويًا، وهو ما يعادل زراعة 1.5 مليون شجرة أو إزالة 15000 سيارة من الطريق.

يعمل نظام الطاقة الشمسية المركزة على توليد الكهرباء من حرارة الشمس بدلاً من ضوء الشمس، كما هو الحال في تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية. تستخدم أنظمة الأحواض مجمعات حرارية شمسية على شكل مرايا مزدوجة، مع أنبوب مركزي لتركيز الحرارة من الإشعاع الشمسي المباشر. تنتج الحرارة بدورها بخارًا لتشغيل التوربينات التقليدية، مما يؤدي في النهاية إلى توليد الكهرباء.
 

فاز مشروع شمس 1 بأربع جوائز:
- جائزة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا للطاقة الشمسية 2016
- جائزة الإمارات للطاقة 2013 - جائزة أكبر مشروع للطاقة - المجلس الأعلى للطاقة بدبي
- جائزة مشروع العام 2013 من جمعية الإمارات لصناعات الطاقة الشمسية
- جائزة الشرق الأوسط للطاقة المتجددة لعام 2010 - مجلة بروجيكت فاينانس

 

175 ألف طن

خفض الانبعاثات الكربونية سنوياً

100 ميغاوات

القدرة المركبة

20 ألف

وحدة سكنية سيتم تلبية احتياجاتها من الكهرباء

Disble Drag
Enable Drag