Noor Abu Dhabi

The world’s largest single-site solar power plant, Noor Abu Dhabi began commercial operations in April 2019. Located at Sweihan, Abu Dhabi, it covers an area of 8 kilometres and features 3.2 million solar panels. The plant produces approximately 1.2 gigawatts of power, reducing reliance on the usage of natural gas for electricity generation resulting in a carbon footprint reduction of 1 million metric tons per year, which is equivalent to taking 200,000 cars off the road.

Noor Abu Dhabi is EWEC’s first significant project that uses sustainable technology and is also a key milestone in the transformation of the energy sector. Beyond size, Noor Abu Dhabi broke another record at the time of bid submission in September 2016, attracting the world’s most competitive tariff of 8.888 fils/kWh. 

Abu Dhabi National Energy Company (TAQA) owns 60 percent of the project with Marubeni Corporation and JinkoPower each holding 20 percent.

The project has won numerous awards throughout the development, most recently winning Power Generation Project of the Year Award at MEED Projects Awards 2020, and Utility Project of the Year Award at the 2020 Middle East Solar Awards, held by the Middle East Solar Industry Association.

1.2 GW

Enough power to cover the demand
of 90,000 people

1 Million

Metric tons of carbon footprint reduction
per year, equivalent to taking 200,000 cars off the road

3.2 Million

Solar panels covering an area of 8km

Disble Drag
Enable Drag

نور أبوظبي

بدأت محطة نور أبوظبي، أكبر محطة مستقلة للطاقة الشمسية في العالم، عملياتها التجارية في أبريل 2019. وتقع في سويحان، أبوظبي، على مساحة 8 كيلومترات مربعة، وتضم 3.2 مليون لوح شمسي. وتُنتج ما يقرب من 1.2 جيجاوات من الطاقة مما يقلل الاعتماد على الغاز الطبيعي والمساعدة في تقليل البصمة الكربونية بمقدار 1 مليون طن متري سنوياً.


نور أبوظبي هو أول مشروع حيوي لشركة مياه وكهرباء الإمارات باستخدام التكنولوجيا المستدامة، كما أنه يعد معلماً رئيسياً في تحول قطاع الطاقة. إضافة إلى حجم المحطة، حطم هذا المشروع رقماً قياسياً آخر في مرحلة تقديم العطاءات في شهر سبتمبر 2016 من حيث الحصول على التعرفة الأكثر تنافسية في العالم، والبالغة 8.888 فلس/ كيلووات ساعة.

تمتلك شركة أبوظبي الوطنية للطاقة (طاقة) 60٪ من المشروع، في حين يمتلك ائتلاف شركة ماروبيني كوربوريشن، وجينكو باور باقي حصة المشروع بنسبة 20٪ لكل منهما.

فاز المشروع بالعديد من الجوائز خلال مرحلة التطوير، وحصل مؤخراً على جائزة أفضل مشروع لتوليد الطاقة للعام في حفل توزيع جوائز ميد للمشاريع 2020، وجائزة أفضل مشروع للعام في حفل توزيع جوائز الشرق الأوسط للطاقة الشمسية 2020، الذي تنظّمه جمعية الشرق الأوسط لصناعات الطاقة الشمسية (MESIA).

1.2 جيجاوات

من الكهرباء لتلبية احتياجات 90 ألف منزل

1 مليون

طن متري خفض الانبعاثات الكربونية سنوياً ما يُعادل إزالة 200 ألف سيارة من الطريق

3.2 ميلون

لوح شمسي على مساحة 8 كلم مربع

Disble Drag
Enable Drag